Follow Us:
  • National Youth Delegate for Canada
    11th Commonwealth Youth Forum
  • Commonwealth Day - Second Monday in March
    2018 Theme - Towards a Common Future
  • Enlighten A Better World
    Become An RCS Member In Canada Today

The Royal Commonwealth Society of Canada (RCS Canada) invites you to submit your application to attend the 11th Commonwealth Youth Forum (CYF) as one of two accredited Canadian delegates. The Forum will take place in London, United Kingdom from April 16-18, 2018. If you are between the ages of 18 and 29 and have experience in youth advocacy and development, apply today! Deadline - Sunday, February 4, 2018 - 11:59 EST.

Application information can be found at the bottom of this page.

What is the Commonwealth?


A voluntary association of 52 independent and equal sovereign states home to 2.4 billion.


Thirty members are small states, many of which are island nations.


Shared values and principles across all members are inscribed in the Commonwealth Charter.


Support comes via a network of more than 80 intergovernmental, civil society, cultural and professional organisations. Learn about the networks.


Includes both advanced economies and developing countries; the last country to join the Commonwealth was Rwanda in 2009.


Learn more about the Commonwealth from the governing body, the Commonwealth Secretariat - click here.

What Is The Commonwealth Youth Forum?

The Commonwealth Youth Forum (CYF) provides an opportunity for young people of the Commonwealth to build cross-cultural connections and networks, debate challenges facing its young people, and agree to youth-lead initiatives to influence decision makers and ensure that young people have a voice in its future.

The agenda for the Commonwealth Youth Forum is developed by an International Taskforce, made up of young leaders from across the Commonwealth, working in partnership with the Commonwealth Youth Council (CYC).

The Youth Forum also incorporates the CYC General Assembly and elections.

The outcomes of the Youth Forum are outlined in a communiqué that will be presented to Commonwealth leaders at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting directly following the end of the Commonwealth Youth Forum.

For more information about the 11th CYF - click here

Read the proceedings of the 10th CYF (Malta, 2015) - click here


The origins of the Commonwealth Youth Council (CYC) lie within the Commonwealth Youth Forum. The CYF has been taking place alongside the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), and brings together national youth delegates (up to two from each country) to discuss and identify the key issues for youth within the Commonwealth. The outcome document from each CYF is Youth Declaration and is presented to the Heads of Government on behalf of the youth of the Commonwealth.

In 2013, youth identified that instead of having a one-time event to present this information, it was necessary to create a body that could advocate on behalf of youth of the Commonwealth to Heads of Government on a consistent basis. Therefore, at the CYF in Sri Lanka, national youth delegates approved the creation of the CYC and elected the first executive positions. The executive positions are two-year terms to be elected by the national youth delegates at each CYF. The role of the executive is to advocate for the demands/issues in the CYF outcome document/agenda - through partnerships with governments and youth organizations, and through support/initiating/promoting programs, campaigns and activities that support the agenda.

Since then, the CYC has found that it needed further support and engagement from Commonwealth youth. Therefore, in 2015 the CYC initiated the role of National Youth Delegates (NYDs) which indicates that the two youth representatives sent from each Commonwealth country hold two-year terms along with their elected CYC. This is to assist in promoting the work of the CYC across the Commonwealth but also to have representatives in each country that could initiate actionable items from the outcome document/agenda.

Learn more about the CYC:

Apply Now!
National Youth Delegate for Canada - 11th Commonwealth Youth Forum

View/Download Application Instructions
Deadline – Sunday, February 4, 2018 – 11:59PM EST

Email Application and Questions

"The Commonwealth offers a pathway for this greater understanding and the opportunity to expand upon our shared experiences in a wider world. A world in which paths to mutual respect and common cause may also be explored and, which can draw us together, stronger and better than before."

HM Queen Elizabeth II

Head of the Commonwealth

"I am incredibly fortunate to be a child of the Commonwealth: born in Dominica, a career forged in the Caribbean and the UK, a family that stretches across the Caribbean and a life that has taken me across the world.

The fast-changing world we live in presents us with both promise and peril. The Commonwealth is a unique organization that can help us work together in that world - promoting shared values, negating challenges and making the most of opportunities - to create a future of unprecedented common wealth."

Baroness Patricia Scotland, QC

Secretary General of the Commonwealth of Nations, 2016-

"In 100 years' time, historians may well judge that one of Britain's greatest gifts to humanity was the Commonwealth."

Arnold Smith of Canada

The Commonwealth Secretary-General (1965-1975)

Email: info@rcs.ca
Follow Us:
  • Délégué(e) national(e) de la jeunesse du Canada
    11e Forum Jeunesse du Commonwealth
  • Commonwealth Day - Second Monday in March
    2018 Theme - Towards a Common Future
  • Enlighten A Better World
    Become An RCS Member In Canada Today

La Société royale du Commonwealth du Canada vous invite à présenter votre candidature afin de participer au 11e Forum Jeunesse du Commonwealth (FJC) en devenant l’un ou l’une des deux délégués canadiens accrédités. Le Forum jeuness eaura lieu à Londres, au Royaume-Uni, du 16 au 18 avril 2018. Si vous avez entre 18 et 29 ans et que vous avez de l’expérience dans la défense des intérêts et le développement des jeunes, présenter votre candidature dès aujourd’hui! Date limite: dimanche 4 février 2018, 23 H 59 HNE.

Les détails sur la façon de présenter sa candidature se trouvent au bas de la présente page.

QU’EST-CE QUE LE COMMONWEALTH?

LE COMMONWEALTH

Une association volontaire de 52 Etats souverains indépendants et égaux accueillant 2,4 milliards.

DU GRAND AU PETIT

Trente membres sont de petits États, dont beaucoup sont des nations insulaires.

VALEURS PARTAGÉES

Les valeurs et les principes communs à tous les membres sont inscrits dans la charte du Commonwealth.

PAYS MEMBRES

Le soutien provient d'un réseau de plus de 80 organisations intergouvernementales, de la société civile, culturelles et professionnelles. En savoir plus sur les réseaux.

INFORMATIONS ÉCONOMIQUES

Comprend à la fois les économies avancées et les pays en développement; le dernier pays à rejoindre le Commonwealth était le Rwanda en 2009.

APPRENDRE ENCORE PLUS

En savoir plus sur le Commonwealth et l'organisme dirigeant, le Secrétariat du Commonwealth - cliquez ici.

QU’EST-CE QUE LE FORUM JEUNESSE DU COMMONWEALTH?

Le Forum jeunesse du Commonwealth offre aux jeunes des pays membres l’occasion de tisser des liens et des réseaux interculturels, de débattre des défis auxquels sont confrontés les jeunes et de convenir d’initiatives dirigées par les jeunes visant à influencer les décideurs et à faire en sorte que les jeunes aient leur mot à dire sur leur avenir.

Le programme du Forum jeunesse est élaboré par un groupe de travail international, composé de jeunes leaders du Commonwealth, en partenariat avec le Conseil jeunesse du Commonwealth.

Le Conseil jeunesse tient son assemblée générale, y compris ses élections, à l’occasion du Forum jeunesse.

Les résultats du Forum jeunesse sont résumés dans un communiqué qui est ensuite présenté aux leaders du Commonwealth lors de la Réunion des chefs de gouvernement du Commonwealth, qui fait suite au Forum jeunesse.

Pour obtenir de plus amples détails sur le 11e Forum jeunesse: - cliquez ici (site en anglais)

Pour lire les actes (en anglais) du 10e Forum jeunesse (Malte, 2015) - cliquez ici (site en anglais)

QU’EST-CE QUE LE CONSEIL JEUNESSE DU COMMONWEALTH?

Le Conseil jeunesse du Commonwealth a trouvé son origine dans le Forum jeunesse du Commonwealth. Le Forum jeunesse, qui se tient en marge de la Réunion des chefs de gouvernement du Commonwealth, réunit dejeunes délégués nationaux (jusqu’à deux par pays) venus cerner les enjeux qui interpellent les jeunes du Commonwealth. À l’issue de chaque Forum jeunesse, un document final, appelé Déclaration de la jeunesse du Commonwealth, est présenté aux chefs de gouvernement au nom des jeunes des pays du Commonwealth.

En 2013, les délégués nationaux ont indiqué qu’au lieu de seulement tenir un événement ponctuel pour présenter cette information, il était nécessaire de créer un organisme qui pourrait défendre de façon constante les intérêts des jeunes du Commonwealth auprès des chefs de gouvernement. Par conséquent, lors du Forum jeunesse tenu au Sri Lanka, les délégués nationaux ont approuvé la création d’un Conseil jeunesse du Commonwealth et ont élu ses premiers dirigeants. Les dirigeants ont des mandats de deux ans et sont élus par les délégués nationaux à l’occasion du Forum jeunesse. Le rôle des dirigeants est de militer pour les demandes ou les préoccupations présentées dans le document final du Forum jeunesse — au moyen de partenariats avec les gouvernements et les organisations de jeunesse, ainsi qu’en soutenant, en initiantou en promouvant des programmes, des campagnes et des activités à l’appui des enjeux prioritaires.

Depuis lors, le Conseil de la jeunesse a constaté qu’il avait besoin de plus de soutien et d’engagement de la part des jeunes du Commonwealth. Par conséquent, en 2015, le Conseil jeunesse a redéfini le rôle des délégués nationaux de la jeunesse. Les deux représentants de la jeunesse envoyés par chacun des pays du Commonwealth ont dorénavant des mandats de deux ans,comme ceux élus au Conseil de la jeunesse. Il s’agit pour eux d’aider à promouvoir le travail du Conseil de la jeunesse dans l’ensemble du Commonwealth, mais aussi de prendre des mesures pour donner suite au document final.

Pour en savoir plus sur le Conseil jeunesse du Commonwealth (sites en anglais):
http://thecommonwealth.org/commonwealth-youth-council
http://commonwealthyouthcouncil.com/

Présentez votre candidature!
Délégué(e) national(e) de la jeunesse du Canada - 11e Forum jeunesse du Commonwealth

Visualiser / Télécharger les instructions de présentation de candidature
Date limite: dimanche 4 février 2018, 23 H 59 HNE



Faites parvenis votre candidature ou vos questions à l'adresse suivante



"Le Commonwealth offre une voie pour cette plus grande compréhension et la possibilité de développer nos expériences partagées dans un monde plus large. Un monde dans lequel les chemins du respect mutuel et de la cause commune peuvent aussi être explorés et, ce qui peut nous rapprocher, plus forts et meilleurs qu'avant."

HM Queen Elizabeth II

Chef du Commonwealth

"Je suis incroyablement chanceux d'être un enfant du Commonwealth: né en Dominique, une carrière forgée dans les Caraïbes et le Royaume-Uni, une famille qui s'étend à travers les Caraïbes et une vie qui m'a pris à travers le monde.

Le monde en évolution rapide dans lequel nous vivons nous présente à la fois promesse et péril. Le Commonwealth est une organisation unique qui peut nous aider à travailler ensemble dans ce monde - en promouvant des valeurs partagées, en niant les défis et en tirant le meilleur parti des opportunités - pour créer un avenir de richesse commune sans précédent."

Baroness Patricia Scotland, QC

Secrétaire général du Commonwealth des Nations, 2016-

"Dans 100 ans, les historiens pourraient bien juger que l'un des plus grands dons britanniques à l'humanité était le Commonwealth."

Arnold Smith of Canada

Le Secrétaire général du Commonwealth (1965-1975)